One hundred and two candidates from 16 regions had filed to contest the regional slots of the Council of State on February 12, 2021 at the close of nominations on February 4, 2021.

Key among the candidates are Mr Enoch Tei Mensah, former Member of Parliament (MP) for Ningo Prampram and former Minister of Youth and Sports in the Rawlings’ administration, who will come face to face with Nii Kotei Dzani, the outgone representative of the Greater Accra Region, for ther region.

Others are Mr Alhassan Andani, former Chief Executive of Stanbic Bank; Mr Ras Mubarak, immediate past MP for Kumbungu, who are vying with four others to represent the Northern Region; Mr Kojo Agyenim Boateng, journalist; immediate past member of the council representating Bono Region; the Akrofosohene, Nana Owusu Achiaw Brempong, immediate past member representing the Ashanti Region and Ms Eunice Jacqueline Buah, a businesswoman, who is seeking re-election for the Western regional slot.


Beforehand, the Electoral Commission (EC) of Ghana opened nominations for electing regional representatives to the Council. The EC in a statement indicated that qualified persons who intend to contest in the said elections should submit their nomination forms with two post-card size copies of recent photographs (bust) to the Regional Director of their respective Regions from Monday, February 1, 2021, to Thursday, February 4, 2021, between the hours of 9:00 am and 12:00 pm and 2:00 pm to 5:00 pm each day.

“Every Nomination must be proposed and seconded by two (2) registered voters and supported by twenty (20) registered voters in the Region. The consent of the candidate must be endorsed thereon.”

“Copies of the nomination forms may be downloaded free of charge from the Electoral Commission’s website ( and completed in triplicate,” it noted.

The Elections will be held in all Regional Capitals on Friday, February 12, 2021.

Meanwhile, President Akufo Addo had appointed 11 persons as core members of the Council of State. They include:

1. Nana Otuo Siriboe II, Juabenhene
2. Archbishop Justice Ofei Akrofi
3. Mr. Sam Okudzeto
4. Mr. Stanley Blankson
5. Prof. Ato Essuman
6. Alhaji Aminu Amadu
7. Dr. Margaret Amoakohene
8. Mrs. Georgina Kusi
9. Mrs. Alberta Cudjoe
10. Kuoro Richard Babini Kanton VI
11. Alhaji Sule Yiremiah


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *